

OFFICE OF HUMAN RESOURCES

12 EAST 4TH AVENUE, SUITE 102 • ROME, GEORGIA 30161 PHONE: 706.291.5156 • www.romefloyd.com

Floyd County Merit Board Meeting

General Meeting Minutes February 16, 2022

Location of Meeting:

Kristen Hearne Memorial Training Center Floyd County Sheriff's Office 2526 New Calhoun Highway Rome, Georgia 30161

Present at Meeting:

Chair: John Reiners

Vice-Chair: Nicholle Harrison

Eddie Chubb

Nicholle Harrison

John Harkins

Sheriff Dave Roberson

Chief Deputy Bob Couey

Danielle Williams, HR Technician

Darryl Bowie, HR Director

The General Meeting of the Floyd County Merit Board was called to order on February 16, 2022 at the Training Center located at the Floyd County Sheriff's Office by Chairman John Reiners.

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS
WRIGHT BAGBY, CHAIR
ALLISON WATTERS, VICE-CHAIR
RHONDA WALLACE
SCOTTY HANCOCK
LARRY MAXEY

ADMINISTRATION

LAMIE McCORD COUNTY MANAGER

JAMIE McCORD, COUNTY MANAGER
DARRYL BOWIE, HUMAN RESOURCES DIRECTOR
SUSIE GASS, ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION DIRECTOR

Introduction

I. Roll Call of Members Present

II. Public Comments

III. Adoption of Minutes

Jim Ford approved the minutes. Eddie Chubb seconds.

IV. Meet and Greet with Sheriff and Chief Deputy

- John Reiners opens meeting reflecting on previous employee hearing. Goes over county discipline policy
- Board members make suggestions to Sheriff and Chief regarding discipline issues at the SO.
 - They should go through Darryl to seek recommendations before dismissal.
 - They should come prepared for hearings.
 - They should watch out for retaliation after employees are disciplined.
- Chief Couey came to the conclusion that he will represent the SO.
- Sheriff and Chief both mention how things are going well.
 - Pay increases help.
 - Spike in applicants.
 - Free programs offered.
- Members take tour of new medical wing.

The next meeting will be held at 2:00 p.m. on March 16, 2022 at:

Floyd County Prison 329 Blacks Bluff Road Rome, Georgia 30161

V. Adjournment

John Reiners moved to adjourn the meeting.

Minutes submitted by: Danielle Williams

Minutes approved by: Darryl Bowie