

# **OFFICE OF HUMAN RESOURCES**

12 EAST 4<sup>TH</sup> AVENUE, SUITE 102 • ROME, GEORGIA 30161 PHONE: 706.291.5156 • www.romefloyd.com

# Floyd County Merit Board Meeting

# General Meeting Minutes April 20, 2022

## **Location of Meeting:**

Floyd County Water Department 217 Calhoun Avenue Rome, Georgia 30161

### **Present at Meeting:**

Chair: John Reiners

Vice-Chair: Nicholle Harrison

Eddie Chubb

Jim Ford

John Harkins

Steve Hulsey, Water Department Director

Danielle Williams, HR Technician

Darryl Bowie, HR Director

The General Meeting of the Floyd County Merit Board was called to order on April 20, 2022 at the Conference Room located at the Floyd County Water Department by Chairman John Reiners.

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS
WRIGHT BAGBY, CHAIR
ALLISON WATTERS, VICE-CHAIR
RHONDA WALLACE
SCOTTY HANCOCK
LARRY MAXEY

ADMINISTRATION

JAMIE McCORD, COUNTY MANAGER

DARRYL BOWIE, HUMAN RESOURCES DIRECTOR
SUSIE GASS, ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION DIRECTOR

#### Introduction

#### I. Roll Call of Members Present

#### **II. Public Comments**

#### III. Adoption of Minutes

Jim Ford approved the minutes with corrections. Eddie Chubb seconds.

# IV. Meet and Greet with Steve Hulsey, Water Department Director

- Steve has been running the Water Department for 30+ years.
- Steve gave some facts and information on the department.
  - Currently fully staff, would like an additional crew added.
  - No rate increase for customers in 9 years.
  - Looks at different ways to get grant money.
  - Buys things that the department needs, not wants.
  - Believes in progressive discipline towards employees.
  - Employees are cross-trained throughout the department.
- Steve mentioned that the biggest concern right now is turnover and the biggest concern for the future is finding staff.

The next meeting will be held at 2:00 p.m. on May 18, 2022 at:

Conference Room Rome/Floyd Parks and Recreation Authority 1 Shorter Avenue Rome, Georgia 30165

## V. Adjournment

Jim Ford moved to adjourn the meeting. Nicholle Harrison seconds.

Minutes submitted by: Danielle Williams

Minutes approved by: Darryl Bowie